Traci's Blog

"Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do." ~Goethe

Fitting the Pieces Together: Reflection

In week 1 of my graduate class Learning Theories and Instruction,we were instructed to reflect on our learning styles and how our learning styles relate to the learning theories we were presented with that week, Behaviorism, Cognitivism, and Constructivism. As the weeks moved on, we learned more about learning theories, intelligences and technologies. Now with a deeper understanding in week 7, I believe everyone one possess a certain degree of every learning style depending on the event. Although one may prefer a particular learning style to others, it is possible to use more than one learning style that is fitting to the situation.

From what we learned about Multiple Intelligences, it is said that all human beings posses several intelligences at different levels (Giles, 2003). Because of these different types of intelligences, I am under the impression that each intelligence requires a different learning style. In the article Multiple Intelligences and Learning Styles, the authors displays a table summarizing the eight intelligences and what learning style works best with that intelligence. For example, the Interpersonal intelligence requires learning through comparing, sharing, and interviewing; and the Mathematical/Logical intelligence requires learning through touching and moving. One can say the interpersonal intelligence is related to the social learning theory; while the mathematical/logical intelligence is related to the cognitive learning theory.

From studying the different learning styles and intelligences, I was able to have a better understanding of my own learning style and more importantly my 7 year old daughter. Since 2012, my oldest daughter Charlie has been struggling with school. Everyone assumed that Charlie suffered from ADHD due to her behavior. With testing, we discovered that Charlie did not have ADHD, but rather a delay in her Executive Functioning. One’s executive functioning helps an individual to think, solving problems, stay on task, and act in a orderly fashion. From studying the Cognitive Learning Theory, I realized that Charlie lacked in metacognition, and her brain was not processing information that way that it should normally. This revelation was very strange to me since Charlie scored in the high average range on her IQ test. In addition to the discovery of her Executive Functioning delay, we also discovered that she was a strong visual learner. Charlie scored highly in the Visual/Spatial field of her testing than in any other field, which proved useful with her Montessori school’s constructivist learning style (Montessori, n.d.). What was hindering Charlie, however, was me imposing my learning style upon her. I discovered early on in my coursework that my learning style consisted of memorization and relating my coursework to meaningful experiences in my life. I had to realize even though my learning style may be helpful to a certain degree, that is not Charlie’s primary choice of learning. Learning about the different learning styles in this class was important for me in understanding my daughter’s abilities, and how I can use the different styles to assist with her learning.

In addition to learning about learning theories and intelligences, I also learned how technology play a role in my learning. In my previous blog Connectivism: Mapping Your Learning Connection, I discovered through a mind mapping assignment that I get the majority of my information through the internet and social networks. With the use of the computer, tablets, and smart phones, I can access a plethora of information at any given time and anywhere. Not only can I expand my knowledge through technology, but I can add to someone’s knowledge with the use of blogs and social media. I can give my interpretations and perspectives to the learning community, which is already very diverse and massive (Davis, 2008).

With the information learned about learning theories, technologies, and intelligences, I believe I am slowly building the foundation to become an instructional designer.

References

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.),Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Connectivism

Giles, E., Pitre, S., Womack, S. (2003). Multiple intelligences and learning styles. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/

Johnson, T. (2013). Connectivism: Mapping Your Learning Connection. [Blog]. Retrieved from https://tracijohnsonwiggins.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/connectivism-mapping-your- learning-connection/

Montessori Education. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montessori_education#Self- construction.2C_liberty.2C_and_spontaneous_activity

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fitting the Pieces Together: Reflection

  1. I am now following you for distant learning. Hope we will continue to learn from each other.

  2. Hi Traci,

    Just letting you know I have subscribed to your blog. All the best in your course! Georgia

Leave a Reply

