Traci's Blog

"Knowing is not enough; we must apply. Willing is not enough; we must do." ~Goethe

Connectivism: Mapping Your Learning Connection

Traci's mind map-learning connections

 

According to Connectivism: Learning theory of the future or vestige of the past?, connectivism is “the starting point for learning” and “occurs when knowledge is actuated through the process of a learner connecting to and feeding information into a learning community” (Hill, 2008, para. 5). In studying connectivisim, I was able to discover my own learning connections by constructing the above mind map.

How has your network changed the way you learn?

Living in this day and age, my connections to knowledge seem much bigger than someone from the 1920s. I am able to learn from “non-human appliances” in which “learning can rest in a community, a network, or a database” (Connectivism, n.d., para. 5). Because of internet, I am able to connect to a plethora of information and diverse people and cultures. In addition, I am able to have all of this information and people readily available with the technology I have at my disposal (i.e. computer, smartphone, ipad). Learning is made easier and abundant through these connections.

Which digital tools best facilitate learning for you?

My smartphone and Ipad best facilitate my learning. I carry one of the two (if not both) wherever I go. Because both devices are connected to a network, I am about to connect to people and information no matter where I am located. I am able to stay abreast on information when knowledge is desired.

How do you gain new knowledge when you have questions?

When I have questions, I gain new knowledge through one of my connections listed in the above mind map. My first method is researching information on the internet by typing in information about my questions in search engines and searching through sites that I deem credible. Usually my search would spawn more questions, in which I search for more information. I also post questions on my social networks and see if anyone in the enormous social network have any information or can lead me in the right direction of that information. Because the internet can be information directly to you without having to leave your seat, libraries and books become obsolete. However, since most books that are posted online have a cost to read the book in its entirety, and since reading a lengthy book online does not agree with my eyes, I will do research at a library at times.

In what ways does your personal learning network support or refute the central tenets of connectivism?

My learning connections support the principles of connectivism, which explains how learning exist in in non-human appliances; how learning is a process of connecting information sources; and how learning and knowledge comes from diverse information (Davis, 2008). My connections are fueled by use of the internet and the vehicles (technology) that allows me to access the internet. Without the internet and technology, my connections fall apart, hindering me connecting to the websites and social media (which are my prime connections). If you review my mind map and cross out the connections that use the internet and technology, the only connections that will remain are books and family/friends. With just these two connections, information may not be as diverse, my knowledge may be limited, and personal learning network would not be a true representation of connectivism.

References

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from           http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Connectivism

Hill, A., Kop, R. (2008). Connectivism: Learning theory of the future or vestige of the past? The International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning. Retrieved from http://www.irrodl.org/index.php/irrodl/article/view/523/1103

Siemans, G. (n.d.). Description of connectivisim. [Blog post]. Retrieved from http://www.connectivism.ca/about.html

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Connectivism: Mapping Your Learning Connection

  1. Pingback: Fitting the Pieces Together: Reflection | Traci's Blog

Leave a Reply

